Diana Petitti, MD, MPH
Interim Chair, Department of Biomedical Informatics

  • Biomedical Informatics
  • Child Health

Clinical Professor, ASU Department of Biomedical Informatics


Diana Petitti, MD, MPH

Brief Bio

Diana Petitti, MD, MPH is clinical professor and the interim chair of the Department of Biomedical Informatics at The University of Arizona College of Medicine - Phoenix. She received an MD from Harvard Medical School, did an internship at the University of Colorado, Denver and received her MPH in epidemiology from the Berkeley School of Public Health. She is board-certified in General Preventive Medicine by the American College of Preventive Medicine.

Dr. Petitti is a productive researcher in epidemiology and preventive medicine. She has made seminal contributions in the fields of women’s health and evidence-based medicine. She has published over 240 papers and book chapters and authored two books: Meta-analysis, Decision Analysis and Cost-Effectiveness Analysis: Methods for Quantitative Synthesis in Medicine and, with Ross Brownson, Applied Epidemiology. She has been an invited lecturer at numerous national and international medical meetings and has been the recipient of several NIH research grants and contracts. She has mentored numerous students and faculty.

Dr. Petitti is a Fellow of the American College of Preventive Medicine and served as an elected Regent of the American College of Preventive Medicine. She is past President of the Society for Epidemiologic Research. She has served on committees for the National Institutes of Health, the Food and Drug Administration, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, the World Health Organization and the Institute of Medicine (National Academic of Medicine). Her past service includes a five-year term as vice-chair of the United States Preventive Services Task Force. Dr. Petitti continues to serve as a member of the Technical Advisory Panel for the United States Preventive Services Task Force.

She is the recipient of several honors, including the Berkeley School of Public Health Alumna of the Year award, the James Vohs Quality Project award (as Team Leader) Kaiser Permanente, the Wade Hampton Frost Award of the American Public Health Association and the Alexander Langmuir Prize for best Centers for Disease Control paper on epidemiology.