Nathaniel Soper, MD
Chair, Department of Surgery
Physician Executive Director, General Surgery Service Line,
Banner – University Medical Center Phoenix

Department Contact:
Jorge Aquino-Rodriguez
Phone: 602-827-2905

Nathaniel Soper, MD

Brief Bio

Nathaniel Soper, MD, is a trailblazer in the field of minimally invasive surgery, foregut surgery and surgical education. He was one of the first academic surgeons performing laparoscopic surgery, which has defined his subsequent career. He has published more than 200 manuscripts, edited 17 textbooks and authored more than 100 book chapters.

Prior to joining the college, Dr. Soper was the program director for the general surgery residency at Northwestern; and he was previously the chair of the Department of Surgery at Northwestern University and surgeon-in-chief at Northwestern Memorial Hospital.

His research efforts have revolved around the applications of minimally invasive surgery for gastrointestinal disease, gallstones and benign esophageal disorders, as well as ultrasound and motility of the gastrointestinal tract. More recently, he has been involved in the early clinical experience with Natural Orifice Transluminal Endoscopic Surgery, including per-oral esophageal myotomy for achalasia.

Dr. Soper earned his medical degree from the University of Iowa School of Medicine. He completed a residency in General Surgery, including a year of laboratory investigation at the University of Utah Hospitals in Salt Lake City, Utah. He also spent two years as a National Institutes of Health funded fellow at the Digestive Disease Center at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota.

Since 1991, Dr. Soper has consistently been named in "The Best Doctors in America.” He is a member of numerous professional societies and is past president of the Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract, the Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons, the International Society of Digestive Surgery, the Central Surgical Association and the St. Louis Surgical Society. Dr. Soper was elected as a Founding Member of the American College of Surgeons Academy of Master Surgeon Educators in 2018.